The LSA is delighted to announce that the three winners of our annual Student Abstract Awards have been selected. 

First Prize:   Aron Finholt, University of Kansas for "States and Possession in Mashi: A Novel Argument for Decomposing have"

Second Prize:  Josh Phillips, Yale University for "Cyclicity, narrativity and Djambarrpuyŋu tense"

Third Prize:  Caitlin Coons, University of Texas at Austin for "Relative Clause Typology Across Signed and Spoken Languages"

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony at the 2022 Annual Meeting, which is scheduled for Saturday, January 8th from 6:30 – 7:00 p.m. ET. Make your plans now to attend these outstanding presentations!

Instituted in 2010, the Student Abstract Award provides $500 for the best abstract submitted by a student for a paper or poster presentation at the next Annual Meeting, and $300 for the submitters of the abstracts rated second and third. Every student who submits an abstract for the Annual Meeting is automatically considered for this award; no nominations are required. All abstracts submitted for the annual meeting are rated, blindly, by external reviewers and the LSA Program Committee. Once abstracts have been accepted, the LSA Staff (who have access to information about abstract submitters) determine which student abstracts were most highly rated.