The LSA is delighted to announce that nine of the field's leading linguists have been elected Fellows of the LSA.   They will be inducted in a ceremony at the LSA Annual Meeting on Friday, January 8, 2021. 

The LSA 2021 Class of Fellows, from left to right:

Top row: Baker,  Beaver, Crowhurst

Middle row: Fitzgerald, Lanehart, Larson

Bottom row: Lobeck, Otheguy, Thurgood

The Fellows are selected by the at-large members of the Executive Committee from among the nominations submitted by LSA members for their distinguished contributions to the discipline. The 2021 Class of Fellows includes: 

  • Mark Baker (Rutgers University)
  • David Beaver (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Megan Crowhurst (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Colleen Fitzgerald (Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi)
  • Sonja Lanehart (University of Arizona)
  • Richard Larson (Stony Brook University)
  • Anne Lobeck (Western Washington University)
  • Ricardo Otheguy (The Graduate Center, CUNY)
  • Graham Thurgood (California State University, Chico)