The LSA is delighted to announce that the inaugural Elizabeth Dayton Award will be given to Valentyna Filimonova (Indiana University Bloomington), pictured at right. 

The Elizabeth Dayton Award was established through a generous gift from the family of late LSA member Elizabeth Pine Dayton (1951-2018).  The Dayton Award is a travel award for graduate students attending the LSA Annual Meeting.  It is given to a graduate student pursuing a specialization in sociolinguistics who demonstrates a distinguished level of scholastic achievement. Subject to the earnings of the endowment, the award covers registration, travel, and lodging and provides a per diem for the winner.

The award will be presented during a ceremony at the LSA's 2020 Annual Meeting next January.  

Read more about LSA Awards and Honors.