The LSA is delighted to announce that nine of the field's leading linguists have been elected Fellows of the LSA.   They will be inducted in a ceremony at the LSA Annual Meeting on Friday, January 3, 2020. 

Top (L to R): Blevins, Bowern, Bucholtz

Middle: (L to R): Goddard, Hyams, Inkelas

Bottom: (L to R): Macaulay, Meyerhoff, Torres Cacoullos

The Fellows are selected by the at-large members of the Executive Committee from among the nominations submitted by LSA members for their distinguished contributions to the discipline. The 2020 Class of Fellows includes:

  • Juliette Blevins (The Graduate Center, CUNY)
  • Claire Bowern (Yale University)
  • Mary Bucholtz (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Ives Goddard (Smithsonian Institution)
  • Nina Hyams (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Sharon Inkelas (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Monica Macaulay (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Miriam Meyerhoff (Victoria University of Wellington)
  • Rena Torres Cacoullos (The Pennsylvania State University)