The LSA is delighted to announce that Brian Joseph, current President of the LSA, and Distinguished University Professor of Linguistics,and The Kenneth E. Naylor Professor of South Slavic Languages and Linguistics at The Ohio State University, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS), which was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin and is the longest standing learned society in the United States. He shares this honor with other prominent linguists, such as Noam Chomsky, Michael Silverstein, and Keren Rice, who are among the relatively few linguists elected to the APS.

Brian Joseph is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and he is the editor of the Journal of Greek Linguistics, and a former editor of Language.

The mission of the APS, as declared by its founders is "promoting useful knowledge". The APS supports this aim by electing scholars across a multitude of disciplines as members, funding scholarly research, and by maintaining a prestigious research library of landmark manuscripts and other documents for scholars to use.

Congratulations to Brian Joseph from the LSA on this notable achievement!