The LSA is pleased to announce the selection of two recipients for its Excellence in Community Linguistics Award for 2019:

  • The Khumuno Wʉ’ʉ Kotiria Indigenous School Association (ASEKK). A photo collage from the school is pictured at left below.
  • Nancy Richardson Steele, Karuk Tribe and the Advocates for California Indigenous Language Survival (pictured at right).

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony at the LSA’s Annual Meeting, on Saturday, January 5, 2019, at 6:00 pm, at the Empire Ballroom of the Sheraton Times Sq Hotel in New York, NY. 

First established in 2013, this award recognizes the outstanding contributions that members of language communities (typically outside the academic sphere of professional linguists) make for the benefit of their community’s language. The contributions made by awardees may be varied, including, among other things, documentation work with a linguist as a consultant and efforts towards language revitalization.