The LSA is proud to announce that four of its members -- Petra Goedegebuure (University of Chicago), Julia Hirschberg (Columbia University), Honorary Member Rexhep Ismajli (Akademia e Shkencave dhe e Arteve e Kosovës), and Tim Thornes (Boise State University) -- have recently received major recognition for their work. 


Goedegebuure's project on Anatolian linguistics, Expressing Agency and Point of View: The Core Cases in the Ancient Anatolian Languages, 1700-300 BCE, received a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).

Hirschberg and Ismajli were elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hirschberg as a Fellow and Ismajli as an International Honorary Member. 

Thornes received a Fellowship from the Documenting Endangered Languages (DEL) Program for for Wadateka'a Nadeguyengana: Harney Valley Paiute Stories [in collaboration with Neme Apichaade Semenna (People Speaking Together): the Burns Paiute Elders Group and the Burns Paiute Tribe University of Utah Press, in preparation].  The DEL Program is an interdisciplinary partnership between the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) to develop and advance knowledge concerning endangered human languages, 

The LSA encourages its members to nominate themselves or their colleagues, as appropriate, for these and other honors and awards.  Find out more about ACLS Fellowships here, about the DEL Program here,  Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences are proposed by current Fellows; to find out more about arranging for a possible nomination, please contact Alyson Reed.