Four LSA members are to receive awards at the upcoming Annual Meeting, which will be held at the JW Marriott in Austin, TX from January 5-8, 2017.  They will join the winners of the Leonard Bloomfield Book Award, the Best Paper in Language Award, the Excellence in Community Linguistics Award and the Student Abstract Awards.  The awards will be presented during a ceremony at 5:30 PM on Saturday, January 7, immediately before President Alice C. Harris's Presidential Address.

Early Career Award: Jeffrey Heinz (University of Delaware)
Citation: For contributions leading to a new computational science of inference and learning as applied to language. Jeffrey Heinz has shown that all phonological generalizations in the world’s languages are computationally simple, belonging to a small group of distinct sub-regular classes within the Chomsky hierarchy. This deep result, which ensures that phonological generalizations are efficiently computable and learnable, could only be obtained through a remarkable synthesis of mathematical linguistics, computational formalisms, and linguistic theory. These linguistic insights can benefit practical problems in artificial intelligence and robotics. Dr. Heinz has published widely in linguistics and beyond, including Science, and already has an outstanding record of training successful young scholars.

Victoria A. Fromkin Lifetime Service Award: Roger Shuy (Georgetown University, Emeritus)
Citation: The LSA is pleased to present the Victoria A. Fromkin Lifetime Service Award for 2017 to Dr. Roger Shuy, for his outstanding service to the Society over his career of fifty-plus years.  Alongside his pioneering contributions in dialectology, sociolinguistics, applied linguistics, literacy, and forensic linguistics, Dr. Shuy has served the LSA as a member of the Program Committee, the Technical Committee on Language and Cognitive Development, the Committee on Linguistics and the Public Interest, the Committee on Linguistic Institutes and Fellowships, and the Membership Committee, as Chair of the Ethics Committee and the Committee on Social and Political Concerns, and as an LSA Delegate to the Consortium of Social Science Associatoins. He has also served as a visiting faculty member at LSA Summer Linguistic Institutes at SUNY Buffalo, the University of Michigan, and SUNY Oswego, and he has been a tireless advocate building bridges to other organizations such as the National Council of Teachers of English, the International Reading Association, and the American Association for Applied Linguistics. Through his work, he has helped to establishing recognition for linguistics and the LSA in the public and legal sectors. Among his other recognitions are the Public Service Award, US Social Security Administration, the American Association for Applied Linguistics, Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service, a New Ways of Analyzing Variation distinguished service award, and an FBI Award Recognizing Service in the Unabomber Case. 
We are proud to add the Victoria A. Fromkin Lifetime Service Award to this long list of honors.

Kenneth L. Hale Award: Melissa Axelrod (University of New Mexico)
Citation: The Linguistic Society of America is pleased to present the Kenneth L. Hale Award for 2017 to Professor and Regents' Lecturer Melissa Axelrod of the University of New Mexico in recognition of her contributions to both the field of linguistics and to the speakers of Koyukon, Dene, Tanoan, and Ixil. Her career is an example of how, with deep dedication, abundant goodwill, and keen insight, it is possible to succeed on both sides of the putative divide between academia and community. Working with elders and preschoolers, teachers and farmers, political leaders and genocide survivors, she has engaged in projects that are both practical and innovative - from authoring dictionaries, grammatical descriptions, and research articles, to training several generations of linguists to follow her example in the very best traditions of fieldwork (including several PhD students who are themselves members of Native American communities). In short, Professor Melissa Axelrod embodies the very spirit of the Kenneth L. Hale Award. She is an inspiration to students, colleagues, and collaborators alike.

Linguistics, Language and the Public Award: Anne Curzan (University of Michigan)
Citation: For bringing an interest in language and linguistics to the public through multiple channels, both online and off.  Professor Curzan engages the public through lively, personable commentary about language, focusing on issues related to the lexicon, especially “slang” and other kinds of lexical innovations. She is a regular contributor to The Chronicle of Higher Education’s blog Lingua Franca; she is featured weekly on Michigan Radio, a local subsidiary of NPR, in a segment called “That’s What They Say”; and she has a monthly video feature “Talking about Words” which appears on Michigan Today, a portal for alumni and friends of the University of Michigan. One of these talks was picked up by TED, and garnered over a million views. Each of these illustrate Professor Curzan’s friendly yet dynamic engagement with language change, language use, language history, and the sociopolitical ramifications of linguistic ideology and prescriptivism.  Curzan is the author or co-author of several ground-breaking books directly related to making linguistics accessible to the public and one (First Day to Final Grade) which provides critical pedagogical training for graduate students and junior academics, another form of public outreach.