The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of their 2015 class of members. Keren Rice, Chair of the Linguistics Department at the University of Toronto, was one of 197 new members in a class that includes novelist Tom Wolfe and astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson.

Keren Rice

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Margaret Mead and Martin Luther King, Jr. in the twentieth. The current membership of the AAA&S includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Keren Rice, Founding Director of the Centre for Aboriginal Initiatives, is involved with phonology, morphology, and language revitalization, particularly for Athabascan languages. Prof. Rice was named an LSA Fellow in 2009 and served as President of the LSA in 2012.

Other new AAA&S members involved with linguistics include:

Congrats to Professor Rice and all other new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences!