With the Linguistic Society of America's 2014 elections completed, the LSA is pleased to announce that Alice Harris, Professor of Linguistics at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, has been named the next Vice President and President-Elect of the LSA. Prof. Harris will assume the role of Vice President beginning in 2015, with current President-Elect John R. Rickford serving as President; Harris will then serve as President of the LSA in 2016. Joan Maling is the current President of the LSA.

Alive Harris

LSA President-Elect Alice Harris

Prof. Harris' research interests include syntax (synchronic and diachronic), morphology, and the nature of 'the word'; her many honors and awards include a 2009 Guggenheim Fellowship. She has served on several LSA committees, including the Executive Committee, and was named a Fellow of the LSA in 2012.

Also in this election, Jeff Good (University of Buffalo) and Natalie Schilling (Georgetown University) were elected as at-large members of the LSA's Executive Committee. The Executive Committee (chaired by the LSA President ex oficio) "has ultimate responsibility and authority for all policy decisions" of the LSA. Prof. Good and Prof. Schilling will each serve a three-year term on the Executive Committee, beginning in 2015--officially, at the conclusion of the LSA 2015 Annual Meeting in early January.

Nine amendments to the LSA Constitution and Bylaws were also approved by the LSA membership; a full list of the changes and their rationales are available on the LSA website. The LSA thanks all outgoing and incoming members of LSA's leadership for their service and dedication to advancing the scientific study of language.