Today, the LSA is pleased to announce the recipients of three of the LSA's annual awards.

Lev Michael is the recipient of the 2015 Early Career Award, recognizing scholars early in their career who have made outstanding contributions to the field of linguistics. Prof. Michael is being recognized for his outstanding contributions to language documentation and South American linguistics, including his work in creating the South American Phonological Inventory Database, which houses data from over 350 languages. Prof. Michael received his Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin in 2008, and is currently an Associate Professor at the University of California, Berkeley.

The recipient of the Early Career Award is also given complimentary registration and travel reimbursement to the upcoming 2015 LSA Annual Meeting.

Jim Bauman is the recipient of the 2015 Linguistic Service Award, honoring members of the LSA who have performed distinguished service to the Society. As a member of several LSA committees (including the Committee on Public Policy), Dr. Bauman has helped create documents highlighting the importance of linguistics to policymakers and general audiences, and has assisted with the development and creation of the LSA website. Dr. Bauman, known more generally for his work at the Center for Applied Linguistics, also served as the LSA observer to NACLO in 2013.

Anvita Abbi is the recipient of the 2015 Kenneth L. Hale Award, given to scholars who have done outstanding work on the documentation of a particular language or family of languages that is endangered or no longer spoken. Prof. Abbi's decades of work documenting and evaluating the minority languages of India, particularly Great Andamanese, have contributed to our understanding of the history of language migration in India and have had a positive impact on revitalizing local cultures. Prof. Abbi is a Professor of Linguistics at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi.

Recipients of several other LSA Awards, including the Linguistic Journalism Award and the Leonard Bloomfield Book Award, will be announced in the coming months. All LSA awards will be presented at the 2015 LSA Annual Meeting on Saturday, January 10, 5:30 PM PT at the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower. Full citations for each awardee are available here.