The LSA announces an open search for the next Co-Editor/Editor-Elect of Language. Members of the society who may wish to be considered are encouraged to contact the search committee to indicate their interest as soon as possible. The deadline for submitting applications has been extended to January 31, 2019.

The LSA is delighted to announce that  the Leonard Bloomfield Book Award for 2018 will be given to Language Contact in Europe: The Periphrastic Perfect through History by Bridget Drinka (University of Texas at San Antonio), published by Cambridge University Press.

Please join the LSA in welcoming the three newest members of the Executive Committee:  Vice President/President-Elect Marianne Mithun (University of California, Santa Barbara) and at-large members Rebecca Scarborough (University of Colorado Boulder) and Arthur K. Spears (City University of New York).  Mithun, Scarborough and Spears (pictured below from left to right) will take office at the conclusion of the upcoming LSA Annual Meeting


The LSA is saddened to report on the passing of Jane Hill, a Fellow of the Society since 2013.  Hill passed away on November 2.  Fellows are members of the Society who have made distinguished contributions to the discipline.  During her career at Wayne State University and the University of Arizona, Hill made innumerable contributions to Uto-Aztecan linguistics, as well as sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology more broadly.  Her notable publications include "Language death in Uto-Aztecan", "Hasta la vista baby: Anglo Spanish in the American Southwest", and


The LSA is saddened to announce the passing of LSA Life Member C. Henry Bradley, a member of the LSA since 1955. Bradley passed away on August 18, 2014. Bradley is known for his work translating the New Testament into the Jicaltepec dialect of Mixteco, and continued to work as a consultant for Mixtec translations for the rest of his life. He also served as a professor of anthropology at Judson College and as an international anthropology coordinator for Wycliffe.

An obituary for Bradley can be read here.

The LSA is offering a range of minicourses on Thursday, January 3, prior to the start of the 2019 Annual MeetingMinicourses are available on Neural Networks; Bayesian Phylogenetics for Linguists; Evaluating Phonological Structure through Simulation and Classification of Phonetic Data; and Teaching Linguistics.  Registration fees range from $5 to $30.   For a complete list of minicourses, description, and


The LSA is saddened to announce the recent passing of LSA Life Member Hansjakob Seiler, a member of the LSA since 1953. Seiler passed away on August 13, 2018. Seiler served as the Chair of General and Comparative Linguistics at the University of Cologne from 1959 to 1986, following work in the United States as a Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences in Stanford, California (1965-1966) and as a Rockefeller Fellow (1953-1955). Since 1986 he had been a Professor Emeritus at the University of Cologne.

The LSA has learned with regret of the October 15, 2018 death of former LSA staff member Mary Niebuhr.  Niebuhr was employed by the LSA from 1985 to 2008, initially as Executive Assistant and later as Executive Assistant of Publications. Photo of Mary Niebuhr

The LSA is pleased to announce the recent publication of Why Study Linguistics, by LSA members Kristin Denham and Anne Lobeck, as part of our continuing Guides to Linguistics series.

The LSA is pleased to issue the official call for applications to students interested in attending its Annual Meeting via the CEDL Travel Award program. The travel awards are sponsored by the LSA's Committee on Ethnic Diversity in Linguistics (CEDL) and, in part, by Elsevier