The LSA is delighted to announce that the 2020 Leonard Bloomfield Book Award will be given to Vsevolod Kapatsinski (University of Oregon) for his book Changing Minds Changing Tools: From Learning Theory to Language Acquisition to Language Change (MIT Press, 2018).


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the newest title in its book series partnership with Routledge: Bilingualism, by Shahrzad Mahootian. A portion of royalties from the sale of this book benefit the LSA. Order your copy today

It gives the LSA great pleasure to announce that the Best Paper in Language 2019 Award will be given to "The noun-verb distinction in established and emergent sign systems" by (pictured below, clockwise from upper left) Natasha Abner, Molly Flaherty, Katelyn Stangl, Marie Coppola, Diane Brentari, and Susan Goldin-Meadow, which appeared in Language Volume 95, Number 2 (June). See the abstract below and read the article here.

The LSA is delighted to announce the debut of a joint membership arrangement with the American Dialect Society (ADS) whereby members of one of the societies will receive a $5 discount on membership in the other.

The LSA is delighted to announce that Jon Sprouse (University of Connecticut) has been selected to receive the LSA's inaugural C.L. Baker Award.  Established in 2019 through an endowment by the family of the late eponymous LSA member, the C.L Baker Award honors excellence for scholarship in syntax.

Interested in getting published, but not sure how to get started?  Sign up for the LSA’s webinar on The Writing Process.  Award-winning authors Sharese King and Charles Yang (see bios below) will serve as paneleists. They plan to share their experience of the writing process and take your questions.  The webinar will take place on Friday, November 1 from 2:00 - 3:30 PM U.S. Eastern Time. 


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the fourth volume of our newest conference proceedings publication: the Workshop on Turkic and Languages in Contact with Turkic.


The LSA reports with regret the death of Dorothy C. Siegel on September 22, 2019. Dorothy joined the LSA in 1997 as a faculty member of the University of Toledo's Department of English Language and Literature.

Professor Siegel's research on what is now known as Lexical Phonology was groundbreaking and is often referenced by today's contemporary linguistic textbooks.

Please join the LSA in congratulating the recipients of the Early Career Award, the Kenneth L. Hale Award, the Linguistic Service Award, the Linguistics, Language, and the Public Award, and the inaugural Mentoring Award.  The awards will be presented during a special ceremony at the LSA Annual Meeting on Saturday, January 4, 2020, in New Orleans.  The recipients are:

Please join the LSA Secretariat in welcoming our new part-time Administrative Assistant Beth Riebe, who started work today. Beth comes to the LSA with more than 30 years of professional experience as an administrator at various law firms in Ohio and the Carolinas. She holds an MA in Labor Relations and Human Resources from Cleveland State University, and a BA in Political Science from Wittenberg University.