The LSA regrets to report the March 16, 2019 death of Cathy Callaghan (Ohio State University, Emerita). Cathy joined the LSA in 1955 and was a Life Member. Her contributions to the field of Linguistics and lifetime achievements are described in this obituary from Ohio State University (May 13, 2019):

The LSA is pleased to announce that the first in a series of special issues for our flagship journal, Language, has just been published. The special issue on Indigenous Languages is available in two parts: 20th and 21st-Century Perspectives. The issue was created as part of the LSA's ongoing observance of the United Nations' International Year of Indigenous Languages in 2019. The special issue was edited by Sally Thomason, past President of the LSA and a former Editor of Language.

The LSA is delighted to announce the winners of five CEDL Travel Grants to attend the upcoming 2020 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. 


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the newest title in its book series partnership with Routledge: Linguistics and Law, by Jeffrey P. Kaplan. A portion of royalties from the sale of this book benefit the LSA. Order your copy today.

The LSA is delighted to announce that the 2020 Excellence in Community Linguistics Award will be given to Mosyel Syelsaangthyel Khaling (pictured at right, in red turban) for his work with the endangered Southern Tangkhulic language Uipo in the Indian State of Manipur.   The citation for the award will read as follows:

In conjunction with its 2019 observance of the International Year of Indigenous Languages, the LSA is pleased to announce the formation of a new section of its flagship journal Language.  The new section, to be edited by Colleen Fitzgerald (Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi), will focus on Language Revitalization and Documentation.

The LSA's flagship journal Language is delighted to announce a roster of new Associate Editors (AEs) who will begin their service in 2020. 

The new Associate Editors for Lanaguage (pictured at right, clockwise from upper left):

The LSA is seeking applications for the position of Student Intern at its national office in Washington, DC for the Spring 2020 semester (Jan - May*). This is a great opportunity to learn more about the field of linguistics, the professional needs of LSA members, and the LSA’s broader agenda to advance the scientific study of language.

The LSA is delighted to announce that the inaugural Elizabeth Dayton Award will be given to Valentyna Filimonova (Indiana University Bloomington), pictured at right. 

In the voting which concluded on November 2, the following were elected to office in the LSA, effective at the end of the 2020 Annual Meeting:

Vice President/President-Elect: Laurence Horn (Yale University, Emeritus) will serve a three-year term on the LSA's Executive Committee -- the first year as Vice President, the second as President, and the third as Past President.