The LSA is pleased to announce the receipt of a grant totaling almost $200,000 from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as the new sponsor of a language and linguistics podcast.

"Syntactic Variation and Auxiliary Contraction: The Surprising Case of Scots," by Gary Thoms, David Adger, Caroline Heycock, and Jennifer Smith, will appear in Volume 95, Number 3 (September 2019) of the LSA's flagship journal, Language.  It is available online now at the Project MUSE site for Language under the auspices of the LSA's "Publish Ahead of Print" initiative.

The LSA is seeking applications for the position of Student Intern at its national office in Washington, DC for the Fall 2019 semester (Sept - Dec*). This is a great opportunity to learn more about the field of linguistics, the professional needs of LSA members, and the LSA’s broader agenda to advance the scientific study of language.


The LSA regrets to announce the recent passing of LSA Member Michael Montgomery. Michael Bryant Montgomery, age 69, of Lexington, SC, formerly of Knoxville, TN, passed away on Wednesday, July 24, 2019. 

Michael Montgomery, speaking at NWAV33, U Michigan

We are delighted to announce that the LSA Executive Committee has approved revisions to the LSA's Ethics Statement, incorporating comments from LSA members and other interested parties. View the revised statement.

The LSA is pleased to announce that it has received a grant from the NSF focused on the the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in Linguistics. The NSF-sponsored project involves the formation of a Faculty Learning Community on SoTL for the 2019-2020 academic year. The main objective of this Faculty Learning Community (FLC) is to strengthen and sustain the development and promotion of scholarly activity in SoTL among linguists and to train a cohort of linguists who will promote inclusivity, mentoring, networking, and pedagogical development.

Mark your calendars now for the next in the LSA's series of webinars on professional development topics! Linguistics in the News: How to Own It! will take place on Thursday, August 22 from 7:00 - 8:30 PM U.S. Eastern Time.


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the third edition of The Five-Minute Linguist, sales of which benefit the Society.  Edited by LSA members Walt Wolfram and Caroline Myrick, The Five-Minute Linguist aims to provide a fun, reader-friendly introduction to language designed for beginners and those with a general interest in the subject.

The LSA is now soliciting nominations for the C. L. Baker Award. This is a new award, intended to honor the legacy of the late C. L. Baker (1939-1997) and funded by a generous gift from his family.

Submit a nomination


The LSA's Long-Range Strategic Plan for 2019-2023 includes as one of its goals and objectives to "support linguistics undergraduates in exploring the full range of professional and research opportunities available to them."  Accordingly, the LSA has embarked on a wide-ranging assessment of the needs of linguistics undergraduates and recent graduates.