Founded in 2019 in response to a need for such a group identified by the participants of the Natives4Linguistics 2018 satellite workshop held at the LSA Annual Meeting. 


Responding to the dearth of Native American and other Indigenous representation within the discipline, the Group aims to create a long-term space of support and a network of people doing similar work in order to share information and knowledge on integrating Native American and other Indigenous intellectual traditions into the research questions, methods, products, and protocols of the discipline.


  • Increasing the participation of Native American and other Indigenous peoples within the discipline of Linguistics as well as at the LSA Annual Meeting..
  • Developing and promoting decolonial strategies to better incorporate Native American and other Indigenous needs and values about language into linguistic science. This includes sharing these with LSA leaders and assisting them with implementation.
  • Creating a space for Indigenous community scholars and linguists, and non-Indigenous linguist partners to network and gain insight on relevant issues concerning Indigenous communities and their respective languages.

January 2021 SIG Meeting minutes

January 2020 SIG Meeting minutes


Any member of the LSA is welcome to join the Natives4Linguistics Special Interest Group.  If you are interested in joining, please contact Convenor Adrienne Tsikewa.

Current members:

  • Adrienne Tsikewa, Convenor (Zuni Pueblo; University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Wesley Y. Leonard (Miami Tribe of Oklahoma; University of California, Riverside)
  • Raymond Huaute** (University of California, San Diego)
  • Christina Newhall* (University of Arizona)
  • Kathryn Pewenofkit Bridwell-Briner**
  • Kelsea Hosoda**
  • Lance Twitchell** (University of Alaska, Southeast)
  • Leanna Dawn McClure**
  • Toni Tsatoke** (University of Oklahoma)
  • Sigwan Thivierge* (University of Maryland)
  • Wilson de Lima Silva** (University of Arizona)
  • Daisy Rosenblum** (University of British Columbia)
  • Megan Lukaniec (University of Victoria)
  • Ryan Henke** (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
  • Samantha Cornelius** (University of Texas, Arlington)
  • Mizuki Miyashita** (University of Montana, Missoula)
  • Josh Holden** (University of Alberta)
  • Kari Chew** (University of Oklahoma)
  • Gladys Camacho Rios+ (Quechua:University of Texas, Austin)
  • Dannii Yarbrough* (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  • Kayla Begay (Hoopa Valley Tribe, Humboldt State University)
  • Martin Kohlberger (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Jenny L. Davis (Chickasaw; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Phillip Duncan* (University of Kansas)
  • Raina Heaton (University of Oklahoma)
  • Joseph Brooks
  • Nathan Ritchie (Rutgers University)

Staff Liaison: David Robinson

Executive Committee Liaison:  Lenore Grenoble

*Natives4Linguistics 2018 satellite workshop participant

**Natives4Linguistics 2018 satellite workshop participant and attended the 2019 SIG pilot meeting

+Attended the 2019 SIG pilot meeting