Charles Fillmore Fellowship

Named in honor of the late Charles Fillmore, a former President of the LSA, this fellowship provides tuition support for a graduate student to attend the Institute.  The fellowship is to be awarded to a student specializing in one of the following subfileds: corpus linguistics, semantics, construction grammar, frame semantics, or computational linguistics. Preference is given to applicants from the University of Minnesota, where Fillmore received his BA in Linguistics.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: Russell Simonsen, University of Minnesota

Yuki Kuroda Fellowship

Established in honor of LSA member and pre-eminent scholar of Japanese linguistics, Yuki Kuroda, this new student fellowship will be reserved for linguistics students from Japan to attend the LSA's biennial summer Linguistic Institute.This fellowship is reserved for linguistics students from Japan. It will cover tuition, travel, lodging, and meals. Preference will be given to Japanese who haven't yet started a graduate program in linguistics in the US.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: Morine Kondo, University of Tokyo

Bernard and Julia Bloch Fellowship

Established from the Julia Bloch Memorial Fund, the Bernard and Julia Bloch fellowship was first awarded in the summer of 1970. Guidelines for the selection of the awardee were drafted and submitted to the Executive Committee in December of that year. The criteria included the statement that the candidate for the fellowship would be, in the opinion of the selection committee, the most promising applicant, with preference given to American Indian candidates. The stipend for the Bloch Fellow would be sufficient to cover tuition, travel and sustenance, and allow for some discretionary funds.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: Wunetu Tarrant, University of Arizona
  • 2017 U Kentucky: Yining Nie, New York University 
  • 2015 U Chicago: Ivy Hauser, U Mass - Amherst
  • 2013 U Michigan: Troy Messick, University of Connecticut
  • 2011 U Colorado-Boulder: Rebekah Baglini, University of Chicago
  • 2009 UC Berkeley: Scott Grimm, Stanford University
  • 2007 Stanford U: Michael Frank, MIT
  • 2005 MIT/Harvard: Rebecca T. Cover, U California-Berkeley
  • 2003 Michigan SU: Kristen Syrett, Northwestern U
  • 2001 U California-Santa Barbara: Cynthia Clopper, Indiana U
  • 1999 U Illinois-Champaign/Urbana: Gunnar O. Hansson, U California-Berkeley
  • 1997 Cornell U: Adam Albright, U California-Los Angeles
  • 1995 U New Mexico: Lynn Nichols, Harvard U
  • 1993 Ohio SU: Christopher Manning, Stanford U
  • 1991 U California-Santa Cruz: Jill Beckman, Ohio SU
  • 1989 U Arizona: Chris Barker, U California-Santa Cruz
  • 1987 Stanford U: Dawn Bates, U Washington
  • 1986 City U New York-Grad Center: Juan Uriagereka, U Connecticut
  • 1985 Georgetown U: Anthony Moy, U California-Berkeley
  • 1983 U California-Los Angeles: Peter Sells, U Massachusetts-Amherst
  • 1982 U Maryland: Shelley Velleman, U Texas-Austin
  • 1980 U New Mexico: Susan DeSantis, Georgetown U/Gallaudet U
  • 1979 U Salzburg: Richard Janda, U California-Los Angeles
  • 1978 U Illinois-Champaign/Urbana: Jaklin Kornfilt, Harvard U
  • 1977 U Hawaii-Manoa: Laurel Dent, U Pennsylvania
  • 1976 SUNY-Oswego: Christine Clifford, Yale U
  • 1975 U South Florida: Emanuel Drechsel, U Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1974 U Massachusetts-Amherst: James P. Gee, Stanford U
  • 1973 U Michigan: Joel T. Katz, Stanford U
  • 1972 U North Carolina-Chapel Hill: Carl A. Urion, Millett, AB, Canada
  • 1971 SUNY-Buffalo: Robert D. Levine, Columbia U
  • 1970 Ohio SU: Julie Beth Lovins, U Chicago

Ivan Sag Linguistic Institute Fellowship

Established in 2014 in honor of our late colleague Ivan Sag, by contributions from LSA members, colleagues, and friends, the Ivan Sag Linguistic Institute Fellowship provides tuition, room and board, and travel for a student at the Linguistic Institute. The Sag Fellowship was awarded for the first time at the 2015 Linguistic Institute. 

Ivan Sag began attending Linguistic Institutes as a graduate student, and continued directing and teaching at Institutes throughout his life. He enlivened every Institute he attended not only with his intellectual engagement, but by organizing housing co-ops, parties in the co-ops, and rock bands to play at those parties. The Ivan A. Sag Institute Fellowship memorializes Ivan’s brilliance, his love of life and linguistics, and his willingness to share these loves with the Institute community. The Ivan A. Sag Institute Fellowship is for an exceptionally promising linguist, and with the expectation that the Sag Fellow will go beyond the normal Institute participation, exercising the kind of inclusiveness, generosity and energy that made Ivan who he was.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: Kang (Franco) Liu, Pomona College
  • 2017 U Kentucky: Jamaal Muwwakkil, UC - Santa Barbara
  • 2015 U Chicago: Maura Sullivan, UC - Berkeley

James McCawley Fellowship

The James McCawley Fellowship is made possible through contributions to the James McCawley Memorial Fund, established in 1999. One fellowship is available for either 1) a graduate student from the University of Chicago, or 2) a graduate student from an Asian country. ("Asian country" is defined as Burma, Cambodia, China (including Taiwan), Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.) This award includes tuition, travel, and room and board for the Asian student where applicable.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: Mia Gong, Cornell University
  • 2017 U Kentucky: Hitomi Minamida, Cornell University
  • 2015 U Chicago: Teigo Onishi, Kyoto University
  • 2013 U Michigan: Haoze Li, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • 2011 U Colorado-Boulder: Niko Kobepa, Australian National University
  • 2009 UC Berkeley: Morgan Sonderegger, University of Chicago
  • 2007 Stanford U: Jie Guo, Chinese U of Hong Kong and Yaron McNabb, U Chicago
  • 2005 MIT/Harvard: Bhim Gautam, Tribhuvan U (Nepal) and Eun-Hae Park, U Chicago
  • 2003 Michigan SU: Lohani Ram Raj, Tribhuvan U (Nepal) and Li Fan, Beijing U
  • 2001 U California-Santa Barbara: Paul Kockelman, U Chicago

Dictionary Society of North America Fellowships

The Dictionary Society of North America Fellowship provides tuition for a student at the 2015 LSA Linguistic Institute at the University of Chicago enrolled in "Computational Corpus Lexicography."  The DSNA Fellowship will not be awarded at the 2017 Linguistic Institute.  Note:  The status of the DSNA Fellowship for the 2019 Linguistic Institute is currently pending. 


  • 2015 U Chicago: Skye Anderson, University of Arizona
  • 2013 U Michigan: Erin Vobornik, Northern Illinois University
  • 2011 U Colorado-Boulder: Justin McBride, Oklahoma State University

Ken Hale Student Fellowship

The Fellowship will be awarded to a graduate student attending the biennial summer Linguistic Institute who is pursuing a course of study to document endangered languages and work with communities toward their preservation. It covers tuition, travel, room and board.  The LSA will make the first Hale student fellowship award at the 2017 Linguistic Institute at the University of Kentucky, Lexington.


  • 2019 U California, Davis: José Armando Fernández Guerrero, University of California, San Diego
  • 2017 U Kentucky: Ivan Kapitonov, University of Melbourne

Other Fellowship Recipients