Established in 2019.

The Elizabeth Dayton Award Committee reviews applications for the Elizabeth Dayton Award.  The Elizabeth Dayton Award, also established in 2019, is a travel award for graduate students pursuing a specialization in sociolinguistics to attend the LSA Annual Meeting. The award covers registration, travel, lodging, and per diem costs subject to the earnings of the initial endowment over the prior 12-month period. When applications are received for this award, the Committee evaluates them, and may or may not recommend a candidate for this award to the Executive Committee, which must formally approve the recommendation.  Applicants should be LSA student members, be graduate students, be pursuing a specialization in sociolinguistics,and demonstrate a distinguished level of scholastic achievement. 


As stated above, the committee is responsible for reviewing applications for the Elizabeth Dayton Award.

Membership (by invitation)

To express interest in receiving an invitation to serve on this committee, please contact the Secretariat staff.

Three individuals with expertise in sociolinguistics.

Committee Members, 2023

  • Manuel Díaz-Campos, Indiana University Bloomington, chair (2023)
  • Laurel MacKenzie, New York University (2024)
  • Vai Ramanathan, UC Davis (2025)

Executive Committee Liaison: Alicia Wassink

Staff Liaison: Vy Le