To join the Committee on Scholarly Communication in Linguistics email the Secretariat staff.


We consider Scholarly Communication in a very broad sense as all ways in which scholars present their scholarly profile and disseminate their research results. This includes books, journal publications, conference talks and posters, colloquia, curated datasets and similar formal products as well as science communication such as podcasts, social media engagement, interviews with journalists, and popular books and articles. The committee was established by the Executive Committee in 2014, following a decision to discontinue the Technology Advisory Committee and the Committee on Member Services and Information Technology. CoSCiL revised its charge in the summer of 2019 to include its relationship to other committees and increased educational components.


Act as the interface between the LSA and the scholarly communications landscape for the advancement of research, study, and teaching of linguistics.  


  • Advise the LSA Executive Committee on actions to take with respect to the development of new practices and technologies for the dissemination of scholarly linguistic work, in particular where they may impact the Society's existing programs and activities.
  • In consultation with the Publications Committee, advise the LSA Secretariat on emerging issues in scholarly communication affecting the business environment for scholarly publishing and the LSA’s business and access model for its publications.
  • In consultation with relevant committees, assess the ways in which the results of linguistic research can be effectively communicated to diverse audiences in language science publications and data, including scholars in allied disciplines, speaker communities, government agencies, and standards bodies.
  • Promote and create guidance towards best practices for the LSA and its members regarding linguistic research, including topics such as data sharing, reproducibility, replicability, and citation practices.
  • Provide and facilitate educational and training opportunities for members of the linguistics community regarding essential skills in scholarly communication, such as publishing, sharing of research, and data management. Collaborate with relevant committees to coordinate these opportunities and discover topics of interest.       
  • Share the work of LSA members in scholarly communication with allied societies, organizations, and other external stakeholders related to scholarly communication, as appropriate.      


  • Chair: Lauren Collister, University of Pittsburgh
  • Executive Committee Liaison: Andrea Berez-Kroker
  • Staff Liaison: Margaret Vitullo