To join the Committee on Public Policy, email Nicholas Fleisher, the committee's chair.


Established in 1988 as the Committee on Social and Political Issues. "Issues" changed to "Concerns" in 1992, "Concerns" changed to "Policies" in 2009. The phrase "Public Policy" was substituted for Social and Political Policies in 2011.


To advance the field of linguistics through public policy initiatives.


The work of the Committee includes, but is not limited to:

  • encouraging expanded government, foundation, and private funding for linguistics research
  • advancing the policy positions of the LSA with regard to linguistics as a scholarly profession and as an academic discipline

The committee works closely with the Executive Director, other committees of the LSA, and the various delegates/liaisons to colleague organizations with an interest in policies affecting the sciences and humanities.

The Committee also recommends to the Executive Committee policies concerning official responses by the LSA to such issues as (a) political pressures affecting the ability of linguists to pursue their research and (b) legislation or regulations concerning a range of language or linguistic issues. The Committee also brings to the attention of the LSA membership social or political issues that they should be aware of. The Committee may be called upon by the Executive Committee to draft responses or position papers on specific issues or to initiate inquiries. The Committee should keep in mind that such responses and position papers, once approved by the Executive Committee and/or endorsed by the membership, will be in the public domain and may be widely circulated. A subcommittee may be established from time to time by the Executive Committee to monitor and consult with government and other agencies on specific social and political issues.

Membership (open)

At least 6 members, serving three-year terms.

Committee Members

     Nicholas Fleisher, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Chair

    Cristina Banfi, Universidad de Buenos Aires

    John Baugh, Washington University, St. Louis

    John Boyle, Northeastern Illinois University

    Claire Carden, Center for Justice, Spokane, WA

    Donna Christian, Center for Applied Linguistics

    Tom Conners, University of Maryland

    Marianna Di Paolo, University of Utah

    Gary Holton, University of Hawaiʻi

    Jessica Holtz, University of Montana

    Jeff  Kaplan, San Diego State University

    Sharon Klein, California State University, Northridge

    David Lightfoot, Georgetown University

    Diane Lillo-Martin, University of Connecticut

    Viola Miglio, University of California, Santa Barbara

    Push Mukerjee

    Vaidehi Ramanathan, University of California, Davis

    Maxwell Hope Schmid, University of Delaware

    Apoorva Shukla, University of Califoria, Los Angeles

    Peter Torres, University of California, Davis

    Maya Wax Cavallaro, California State University, Northridge



Executive Committee Liaison: Carmen Jany

Staff Liaison: Alyson Reed