To join the Committee on LGBTQ+ [Z] Issues in Linguistics, email committee chair Tyler Kibbey.

Establiished in 2019 as an outgrowth of the LSA Special Interest Group (SIG) on the same topic

  • To help the Society and the profession identify, publicize, and implement ways of improving the recruitment, retention, and professional development of LGBTQ+ linguists.
  • To make recommendations to the Society and the profession concerning ways in which full equality of opportunity can be provided to all who seek to study, teach, or conduct linguistics research.
  • To advocate for inclusive language and practices in the Society’s statements and guidelines as well as at the Society’s events


The work of the Committee includes but is not limited to the following:

  • Monitoring and advancing the inclusion of the LGBTQ+ community in linguistics.
  • Proposing to the Executive Committee LSA policies regarding the rights, opportunities, and needs of the LGBTQ+ community in linguistics, as well as evaluating said policies.
  • Maintaining liaison with other organizations concerned with LGBTQ+ diversity and equality in linguistics and allied fields and investigating possibilities for cooperating with such groups on specific projects.
  • Organizing professional development programming to assist LGBTQ+ linguists in advancing their careers.
  • Encouraging and promoting research on language, gender, and sexuality as well as developing professional, academic, and social platforms for said research.
  • Promoting communication, networking, and mentoring between LGBTQ+ students and professional linguists.
  • Promoting the positive recognition of mentoring, advising, and other supportive roles that may take up a disproportionately large contribution of time for the few LGBTQ+ faculty members in the professions and disseminating information about solutions to the problem of overburdening LGBTQ+ faculty in this way.
  • Collecting and disseminating relevant data and resource materials and publicizing the activities of the Committee by all appropriate means.
Membership (open)

At least eight members serving three-year terms, including at least one student member. 

Committee Members, 2019

  • Tyler Kibbey, University of Kentucky, Chair
  • Rusty Barrett, University of Kentucky
  • Nathan Sanders, University of Toronto
  • Kathryn Campbell-Kibler, Ohio State University
  • Uri Horesh, University of Essex
  • Margaret Thomas, Boston College
  • Tom Roberts, UC Santa Cruz
  • Claire Bowern, Yale University
  • Gregory Ward, Northwestern University
  • Kelly H. Berkson, Indiana University
  • Samuel Jambrović, University of Toronto
  • Matthew Wagers, UC Santa Cruz
  • Andries Coetzee, University of Michigan
  • Jarrett Preston Champion Hopewell, University of Montana
  • George Aaron Broadwell, University of Florida
  • Bradley Hoot, DePaul University
  • Jillian Murphy, Northeastern Illinois University
  • Evan D. Bradley, Penn State University
  • Pearl Shavzin, City University of New York
  • Kyle Jerro, University of Essex
  • Sonja Lanehart, University of Arizona
  • Mary-Caitlyn Valentinsson, Appalachian State University
  • Robin Queen, University of Michigan
  • Andrew Cheng, UC Berkeley
  • Will Leben, Stanford
  • Brett C. Nelson, University of Calgary
  • Chris VanderStouwe, Boise State University
  • Daniel Midgley, Talk the Talk, University of Western Australia
  • Samantha Cornelius, University of Texas Arlington
  • Catherine Anderson, McMaster University
  • Kathrik Durvasula, MSU
  • Sarah Hercula, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Canaan Breiss, UC Los Angeles
  • Andrew Shibata, UC San Diego
  • Anna Bax, UC Santa Barbara
  • Simon L. Peters, UC Santa Barbara
  • H. Stephen Straight, Binghamton University SUNY
  • Gretchen McCulloch, Lingthusiasm
  • Dennis Storoshenko, University of Calgary
  • Kirby Conrod, University of Washington
  • Ramon Escamilla, University of Central Arkansas
  • Shane Taylor, San Diego State University
  • Kira Hall, UC Boulder
  • Jorge Valdes Kroff, University of Florida
  • Brent Woo, University of Washington
  • Michael Barrie, Sogang University
  • Lauren Ackerman, Newcastle University
  • Alicia Parrish, New York University
  • Sunkulp Ananthanarayan, University of Texas at Austin
  • Sameer ud Dowla Khan, Reed College
  • Keith Langston, University of Georgia
  • Miguel Cuevas-Alonso, University of Vigo
  • Adam J. Royer, University of California, Los Angeles

Executive Committee Liaison: Norma Mendoza-Denton

Staff Liaison: David Robinson

More about the Committee on LGBTQ+ [Z} Issues in Linguistics