Please join the LSA Secretariat in welcoming our new part-time Administrative Assistant Beth Riebe, who started work toda


The LSA is pleased to issue the official call for applications to students interested in attending its Annual Meeting via the CEDL Travel Award program.


The LSA regretfully reports that emeritus professor Gary Holland of UC Berkeley has passed away earlier last week.


Are you already a published author?  Not yet published, but planning to?   Heard about Open Access but want to find out more about it?


We are delighted to announce that Raul Aranovich and Georgia Zellou, the Co-Directors of the LSA's 2019 Linguistic Institute at the University of California, Davis, will be inducted as


The LSA is delighted to announce that its Executive Committee (EC) has approved the creation of a new Natives4Linguistics Special Interest Group (SIG), which is open to all LSA members. The development of this SIG emerged from needs identified by the participants of the


The LSA joined the leadership of colleague scholarly societies in expressing strong concerns about recent actions by the US Department of Education to interfere with curriculum decisions made by the Duke-UNC Consortium for Middle East Studies, a Title VI National Resource Cent


The LSA is delighted to announce that nine of the field's leading linguists have been elected Fellows of the LSA.   They will be inducted in a ceremony at the


The LSA is delighted to announce that its Executive Committee has recently approved the establishment of a new Committee on LGBTQ+ [Z] Issues in Linguistics (COZIL).  The committee is an o


The September issue of Language is now available online at Project MUSE.


The LSA is pleased to announce the finalists for the fourth annual Five-minute Linguist to be held at the 2020 Annual Meeting.  T


The LSA reports with regret the death on September 2, 2019 of Karl Zimmer, a Life Member of the LSA, and a member since 1958. 


The LSA is delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 Student Abstract Award, in conjunction with our upcoming 2020 Annual Meeting in New Orleans!  This award recognizes the three best abstracts submitted b


The LSA is currently accepting applications for a part-time (20 hours per week) Administrative Assistant.


The LSA is pleased to announce the selection of Thomas Curwen, a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times, as the recipie


It has been an honor, and a real treat, to host more than 400 faculty, students and affiliates at the 2019 Linguistics Institute. Having so many colleagues around UC Davis (and I include the students in this category too) has been exciting and exhausting.


The Program Committee of the LSA is pleased to announce the line-up of organized sessions for the 2020 Annual Meeting, which will take place at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside from January 2-5. Organized sessions will be scheduled, along with accepted paper and poster presentation


The LSA reports with regret the August 11, 2019 death of Michael E.


The LSA is pleased to announce the receipt of a grant totaling almost $200,000 from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as