The Linguistic Academic Depository (LAD) -- an exclusive benefit for LSA members -- is a site for linguists to share teaching materials. Members of the LSA can deposit or download syllabi, exercises, handouts, and other pedagogical documents.


In accordance with the LSA's implementation of a "green" open access policy for Language, all content from the March 2013 issue of the journal is now freely available on the LSA webite.  To view all Language open-access content, click


At a special ceremony organized at the University of Connecticut Storrs campus, LSA Executive Committee Members Troy Messick and Susan Fischer presented Jonathan Bobaljik with the 2014 Leonard Bloomfield Book Award for Universals in Comparative Morphology: Suppletion, Superlatives and the Str


Due to unforeseen circumstances beyond the control of the LSA, the 2015 Annual Meeting will not be held at the Hilton San Francisco Union Square, as originally scheduled. 


The Program Committee of the LSA is accepting proposals for Organized Sessions to be held at the 2015 Annual Meeting. An organized session is an excellent opportunity to present a group of similarly-focused presentations on a wide variety of topics and in a wide variety of formats.


Interested in how linguistics and the LSA have changed in the past 90 years?


The LSA is delighted to announce the recent appointment of Dr. Helen Goodluck (York University) as Book Review Editor for Language, for a term of three years beginning in January 2014.  Dr.


The LSA regrets to report the death, on February 13, 2014, of Charles J. Fillmore (University of California, Berkeley, Emeritus), Past President (1991) of the Society and a Life Member.


The LSA will entertain proposals for satellite workshops to be held immediately before or after the LSA’s 2015 Annual Meeting, which will be held in San Francisco, California from January 8-11.


The Nominating Committee of the LSA is soliciting nominations from LSA members for the Vice President/President-Elect and members-at-large of the Executive Committee, including self-nominations. We ask nominators to provide a brief statement (ca.


The LSA's first ever  Annual Report on the State of Linguistics in Higher Education (2013) serves as a resource for both students and professionals inter


LSA member and former President (2012) Keren Rice has been made an Officer of the Order of Canada for her contributions as a linguist and scholar whose research on Canada’s North has notably helped to preserve the Athapaskan languages.


The LSA has endorsed a letter prepared by the Coalition for National Science Funding (CNSF) addressed to the Chair of the U.S.


The Media Advisory provides journalists with a round-up of research and program highlights, including "newsworthy abstracts" selected by the LSA Program and Public Relations Committees.


Research conducted by LSA members Amanda Ritchart (University of California, San Diego) and Amalia Arvaniti (University of Kent) is garnering attention from major news media outlets, including the BBC News and th


The LSA is pleased to announce the appointment of Sandra Chung (UC Santa Cruz) to a four-year term as Delegate to the American Council of Learned Societies. Dr.


Universals in Comparative Morphology: Suppletion, Superlatives, and the Structure of Words (MIT Press, 2012), has been selected to receive the 2014 Leonard Bloomfield Book Award.


To increase the participation of ethno-racial minorities in the LSA,  the Committee on Ethnic Diversity in Linguistics (CEDL) has awarded four student travel grants in the amount of $500 for awardees to attend the 2014 LSA Annual Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota.


As part of its expanding publications program, the LSA has published the first article to appear in its new section of the journal Language, Historical Syntax.