The membership of the National Humanities Alliance (NHA) elected LSA Executive Director Alyson Reed to its Board of Directors at its annual business meeting on March 18th.


See remarks from the special presentation of the Leonard Bloomfield Book Award given to Victor Golla for the book "California Indian Languages" :


The LSA and the 2013 Linguistic Institute at the University of Michigan have awarded seventy-five Fellowships to attend the Institute, including the Bloch Fellowship, the James McCawley Fellowship, the Dictionary Society of North America Fellowship, and ten Rackham Diversity Allies Fellowships.


The LSA Executive Committee has appointed an ad-hoc committee to develop a new strategic plan for the Society.


The LSA Executive Committee has appointed David Lightfoot, of Georgetown University, to serve as its Publications Advisor for a term of five years.


The LSA is pleased to announce that the University of Chicago will serve as the host campus for the biennial Linguistic Institute, to be held July 6 - 31, 2015.


Student members of the LSA may apply online for Fellowships for the 2013 Linguistic Institute, which will be held at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor from June 24 through July 19th.  The LSA's Linguistic Institutes are the premier gatherings


The LSA is pleased to announce the appointment of Stanley Dubinsky as the first Executive Editor of Language.


This LSA Media Advisory offers an overview of newsworthy research, awards, and related activities that took place at the Annual Meeting, including a series of joint sessions co-sponsored with the Modern Language Association (MLA).


The Linguistic Society of America will present the Leonard Bloomfield Book Award to California Indian Languages, by Victor Golla (University of California Press, 2011).


The Linguistic Society of America conducted elections for officers and Executive Committee members from September through November, 2012.


The Linguistic Society of America is pleased to announce the following awards, which will be presented in a ceremony preceding the Presidential Address on Saturday evening , January 5 at its Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts. 


In a letter to LSA members, President Keren Rice provides an update on changes to the LSA's journal, Language, that were recently approved by the Executive Committee. Read the letter


Did you know?  The LSA has recently met or will soon met in (or adjacent to) six of America's Top Ten best cities, as rated by Businessweek.com:  #1 San Francisco (2009, 2015), #3 Washington DC (2016), #4 Boston (2013), #5 Portland (2012), #8 Austin (2017), #10 St.

By: Reed & De Smet

Languages are continually changing, not just words but also grammar. A recent study examines how such changes happen and what the changes can tell us about how speakers' grammars work.