The LSA is delighted to announce the plenary speakers for its 2015 Annual Meeting, which will be held January 8-11 at the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower in Portland, Oregon. 


The LSA is pleased to announce the creation of a new award for journalistic merit in covering the field of linguistics.


The LSA welcomes Brice Russ as its new Director of Communications, beginning June 2, 2014.


The LSA has learned with regret of the deaths of Honorary Members Kurt Baldinger and Ana María Barrenechea.   The former was ma


The Linguistic Society of America and CoLang 2014 are delighted to announce the recipients of scholarships for CoLang 2014, The Institute on Collaborative Language Research. 


Lily Wong Fillmore has established two new LSA endowment funds in memory of her late husband, Charles Fillmore. The endowments will support two new awards at the LSA's biennial Linguistic Institute.


The LSA regrets to report the April 25, 2014 death of James Higginbotham, a member of the Society since 1990.


LSA Executive Director Alyson Reed sent a letter today to the Chinese President asking him to to investigate the situation surrounding the arrest in Xinjiang China of Uyghur linguist and educator, Abduweli Ayup.


The LSA regrets to report the April 13, 2014 death of Peter Meijes Tiersma, a Life Member of the LSA (and a member since 1967).   An obituary will be posted when one is available.  View Dr. Tiersma's web page here.


LSA Members Ivano Caponigro (University of California, San Diego) and Patienc


The LSA will entertain proposals for satellite workshops to be held immediately before or after the LSA’s 2016 Annual Meeting, which will be held in Washington, DC from January 7-10.


The LSA is delighted to announce that Mark Aronoff (Stony Brook University) has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in recognition of his "prior achievement and exceptional promise."  Aronoff has held a number of service positions within the LSA, including a year (2005) as its President.&nb


The LSA regrets to report the March 16, 2014 death of the Rev. Dr. Denice J. Szafran (SUNY Geneseo), an LSA member since 2013.  Read more ...


The Linguistic Society of America (LSA) is accepting nominations for its prestigious Leonard Bloomfield Book Award, given annually for the volume which makes the most outstanding contribution to the development of our understanding of language and linguistics.


Nominations are being accepted for service on the LSA's Open and Appointed committees. This is an excellent opportunity for you to expand your professional networks, enhance your administrative portfolio, and make a difference in areas about which you care deeply.


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the first edition of the official Proceedings of the Annual Meetings on Phonology.


Applications are now available for scholarships to attend CoLang 2014, the Institute on Collaborative Language Research, which will take place in June and July, 2014 at the University of Texas at Arlington unde


The Linguistic Society of America is seeking a talented communications professional to fill a new position at its headquarters in Washington, DC.


The LSA joined with scores of national scientific societies in opposing the FIRST Act (HR 4186), which proposes a 42 percent reduction in funding for the Social, Behavioral and Economic (SBE) Sciences Directorate of the National Science Foundation.