The Program Committee has announced eight Organized Sessions for the 2023 Annual Meeting and one special movie event.


We are saddened to report on the death of Bernard Spolsky, Professor Emeritus in the Department of English Literature and Linguistics at Bar-Ilan University and Life Member of the Linguistic Society of America.


The LSA heartily congratulates members Dr. Michael Erard, Dr. Natalia Knoblock, and Dr. Veronika Drake on receiving grants from the National Endowment of the Humanities.


The LSA is delighted to announce that eight of the field's leading linguists have been elected Fellows of the LSA. They will be inducted in a ceremony at the 


 Out of the Mouth of BabesDavid L. Olmsted, linguist, anthropologist, and Life Member of the Linguistic Society of America, died on June 3, 2022, of pneumonia.


The Program Committee has announced Alec Marantz, LouAnn Gerken, and Ashwini Deo as the plenary speakers for the 2023 Annual Meeting


By a unanimous vote of the Executive Committee, the LSA approved the following Statement on the Scholarly Merit of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL).


Congratulations to LSA life member Isaac Bleaman (University of California, Berkeley), who has received a 5-year grant through the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program of the National Science Foundation (NSF).


The July 2022 installment of our “Meet the Authors” webinar series featuring authors Tory Sampson and Rachel Mayberry is now available online on our YouTube channel.


David H. Pentland, LSA member and Professor of Linguistics and Anthropology at the University of Manitoba, passed away on July 6, 2022 after a brief illness. Our thoughts are with his family and colleagues at this time. Professor H.C.


Join us Thursday, July 21, 2022, at noon Eastern for the next installment of our “Meet the Authors” webinar series.


The next LSA Linguistic Institute will be held at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, from June 19 until July 14 2023.


The LSA is pleased to announce that members of Indigenous communities seeking to join the LSA can apply for a fee waiver for a new, one-year membership. In honor of the 


Last week, the LSA submitted comments on the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Draft Themes and Goals for its Strategic Plan.


David Beaver, Paul Egré, Henriëtte de Swart, and Ming Xiang have been appointed to the Advisory Board for the journal.


The LSA Executive Committee (EC) has recently appointed Joe Salmons to be the Society’s Parliamentarian, a position that is authorized by the Bylaws, but which has been vacant for some time.


Join the LSA for our next webinar on June 3, 2022, from 12 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. EDT. The presentation is entitled, “Research Funding for Documenting Endangered Languages at NSF and NEH.” The webinar will discuss the guidelines, eligibility, and evaluation criteria to apply for the DLI-DEL Fellowships and DLI-DEL Senior Research Grants.


The LSA was pleased to present two of its awards to recipients in person earlier this month, since many of the recipients were unable to attend the official award ceremony held in January due to the pandemic.


The LSA is pleased to announce the interim appointment of student member Z.L.