The LSA is pleased to announce the finalists for the fourth annual Five-minute Linguist to be held at the 2020 Annual Meeting.  T


Applications are open though September 27, 2019 for one of the LSA's newest awards, the


The LSA reports with regret the death on September 2, 2019 of Karl Zimmer, a Life Member of the LSA, and a member since 1958. 


The LSA is delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 Student Abstract Award, in conjunction with our upcoming 2020 Annual Meeting in New Orleans!  This award recognizes the three best abstracts submitted b


The LSA is currently accepting applications for a part-time (20 hours per week) Administrative Assistant.


The LSA is pleased to announce the selection of Thomas Curwen, a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times, as the recipie


It has been an honor, and a real treat, to host more than 400 faculty, students and affiliates at the 2019 Linguistics Institute. Having so many colleagues around UC Davis (and I include the students in this category too) has been exciting and exhausting.


The Program Committee of the LSA is pleased to announce the line-up of organized sessions for the 2020 Annual Meeting, which will take place at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside from January 2-5. Organized sessions will be scheduled, along with accepted paper and poster presentation


The LSA reports with regret the August 11, 2019 death of Michael E.


The LSA is pleased to announce the receipt of a grant totaling almost $200,000 from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as


"Syntactic Variation and Auxiliary Contraction: The Surprising Case of Scots," by Gary Thoms, David Adger, Caroline Heycock, and Jennifer Smith, will appear in Volume 95, Number 3 (September 2019) of the LSA's flagship journal, Language.  It is


The LSA is seeking applications for the position of Student Intern at its national office in Washington, DC for the Fall 2019 semester (Sept - Dec*).


The LSA regrets to announce the recent passing of LSA Member Michael Montgomery. Michael Bryant Montgomery, age 69, of Lexington, SC, formerly of Knoxville, TN, passed away on Wednesday, July 24, 2019. 


We are delighted to announce that the LSA Executive Committee has approved revisions to the LSA's Ethics Statement, incorporating comments from LSA members and other interested parties.


The LSA is pleased to announce that it has received a grant from the NSF focused on the the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in Linguistics. The NSF-sponsored project involves the formation of a Faculty Learning Community on SoTL for the 2019-2020 academic year.


Mark your calendars now for the next in the LSA's series of


The LSA is pleased to announce the publication of the third edition of The Five-Minute Linguist, sales of which benefit the Society.  Edited by LSA members Walt Wolfram and Caroline Myrick, The Five-Minute Linguist aims to provide a fun, reader-friendly intro


The LSA is now soliciting nominations for the C. L. Baker Award. This is a new award, intended to honor the legacy of the late C. L. Baker (1939-1997) and funded by a generous gift from his family.


The LSA's Long-Range Strategic Plan for 2019-2023 includes as one of its goals and objectives to "support linguistics undergraduates in exploring the full range of professional and research opportunities a


The LSA is delighted to announce that our newest platinum open-access publication, Phonological Data and Analysis