Congratulations to linguists Jessie Little Doe Baird and Tom McCoy, whose achievements have each been recognized by Yale University.


The LSA is pleased to sponsor the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad (NACLO), an annual event that brings together high school students to compete in solving problems in language analysis drawn from languages around the world.


Read more about the latest linguistics research spanning the entire field, including a news release [pdf] about the "Hazards of English Spelling" which highlights an article on 


This morning, President Trump released a budget blueprint that calls for the elimination of the National Endowment for the Humanities, including funds for the Documenting Endangered Languages program, which is jointly funded by the NSF.


This post was republished and archived on June 28, 2017.


In late 2014, four United States Senators and four Members of Congress requested from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences a study to examine the country’s current capacity in languages and language study.


The following letter was sent to the entire LSA membership as an e-mail in February 2017.


The LSA’s Representative to the AAAS Science & Human Rights Coalition, Michel DeGraff, published a report on Haiti's "linguistic apartheid" as a violation of children's rights earlier today via OpenDemocracy.net.


The Hill newspaper is reporting that the Trump Administration's budget blueprint will call for the elimination of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), a significant source of federal


The LSA issued the following news release [pdf] in advance of the online publication of Language.


The LSA issued this News Release to highlight the latest research published in the most recent issue of its flagship journal, Language.

The Versatility of Pronouns and Shifting Identity


Congratulations to LSA Past President Joan Bresnan, who received the ACL Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016 on August 10 in Berlin.


Congratulations to LSA Members Christopher Kennedy and Jason Merchant, who have each been recognized with named professorships by the University of Chicago.


The LSA has just learned that Keren Rice, long-time LSA member and former President (2012), received the Pierre Chauveau medal o


Join us in congratulating LSA Fellow Steven Pinker, who was recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Dr.


The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently announced the recipients of the 2016 Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) awards.


Congratulations to the newest class of grantees announced by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the NEH Documenting Endangered Languages (DEL) program. The DEL program is jointly funded by the National Science Foundation and the NEH.