The Linguistic Society of America congratulates the members of the panel "New Directions in LGBTQ+ Linguistics: Commemorating the LSA Special Interest Group on LGBTQ+ Issues in Linguistics", which has been awarded an Interdisciplinary Public Engagement Award from the


Join the LSA in celebrating the UN International Year of the World's Indigenous Peoples on August 9th!


In May, Volodymyr Kulyk*, gave a lecture at Institute for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies (IERES) at the Geo


The Linguistic Society of America wishes to congratulate members who have recently received fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) and grants from the


The Linguistic Society of America congratulates Lenore Grenoble and Charles Yang on their reception of Guggenheim Fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.


Late last night, Congress released a comprehensive spending deal that includes an increase of $3 million dollars for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for the remainder of FY 2018.


Tashi Wangchuk, a Tibetan language rights activist and entrepreneur from Yushu prefecture, was arrested by the Chinese government in 2016 on charges of "inciting separatism." On January 4, 2018, he was tried and still awaits a verdict. Mr.


President Trump just released his Presidential Budget Request for FY 2019, which again calls for the elimination of the National Endowment for the Humanities, which supports humanistic linguistic research and the Documenting Endangered Languages Program (in partnership with the NSF).


The LSA is pleased to share the news about a leadership transition at our long-standing sister society, The


The LSA has just learned that Shana Poplack, Distinguished University Professor at the University of Ottawa, has just been awarded an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature from University College Dublin.


The LSA is pleased to report that the Esther Martinez Native American Preservation Act was passed in the Senate on November 29, 2017, and referred to the House Committee on Education and the Workforce the following day, November 30th.


The LSA is delighted to announce the winner of the Best Paper in Language 2017 Award.


Concluded FY2018 Budget Update (April 2, 2018)


Congratulations to linguists Jessie Little Doe Baird and Tom McCoy, whose achievements have each been recognized by Yale University.


The LSA is pleased to sponsor the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad (NACLO), an annual event that brings together high school students to compete in solving problems in language analysis drawn from languages around the world.


Read more about the latest linguistics research spanning the entire field, including a news release [pdf] about the "Hazards of English Spelling" which highlights an article on 


This morning, President Trump released a budget blueprint that calls for the elimination of the National Endowment for the Humanities, including funds for the Documenting Endangered Languages program, which is jointly funded by the NSF.