Nominations for the 2021 class of LSA Fellows are open through June 30, 2020.  Submit your nomination here.

Criteria for Nomination and Selection of LSA Fellows

Members of the Society who have made distinguished contributions to the discipline may be recognized as Fellows of the Linguistic Society of America. Distinguished contributions may include:

  • Scholarly excellence
  • Service to the LSA
  • Service to speech communities
  • Service to government and/or industry
  • Teaching and mentoring excellence
  • Sustained effort in the above areas over the course of their careers

When considering nominations of fellows, the at-large members of the Executive Committee shall strive to ensure that the total population of LSA Fellows reflects:

  • Diversity of subfields
  • Demographic diversity
  • The highest standards of professional conduct

The at-large members of the Executive Committee shall meet in confidential session to discuss the merits of each nominee prior to voting, consulting with other members of the Executive Committee as deemed appropriate or necessary.

A member of the Society who has served as an Officer of the Society (i.e., President or Secretary-Treasurer), as Editor of Language or Semantics and Pragmaticsor as (co)Director of a Linguistic Institute, shall be recognized as a Fellow upon conclusion of service in that office. The initial set of Fellows shall include all current members of the Society who have held any of these offices.


In addition, up to eight members may be recognized as Fellows each year by the at-large members of the Executive Committee, who are to select from among eligible individuals nominated by any member of the Society in good standing.  Current members are eligible for election if they have at least four years of continuous membership at the time of their nomination.  Nominations may be made to the Secretariat, which will issue a call each year and prepare a list of nominees for consideration.  The Secretariat will confirm that the nominee is a member in good standing before preparing the ballot.
(From the LSA Constitution (Article II, No. 8) and Bylaws (Pursuant to Article II, No. 4.))

No member of the Executive Committee will be eligible for election as a Fellow while serving in that office. Members who are Fellows may be nominated to serve as Officers or on the Executive Committee.

Nominations of women and underrepresented ethnic minorities are especially encouraged. 


2015 Fellow C.-T. James Huang   

President Joan Maling inducts 2015 Fellow C.-T. James Huang.

2015 Fellow Robin Queen

2015 Fellow inductee Donca Steriade poses with President Joan Maling and LSA Executive Director Alyson Reed.

Click on the links below for a list of all LSA Fellows.

LSA Fellows by Name

LSA Fellows by Year of Induction