Established in 1975; charge modified in 2016.


To advise the Institute Directors on all aspects of the Linguistic Institute, with an emphasis on scholarly and professional content offered and ensuring that such content is consistent with the strategic goals and objectives of the LSA.  A subcommittee is charged with overseeing the fellowship competition.


  • To support prospective Institute hosts and approved Institute Directors in shaping the theme, course offerings, and workshops, in addition to helping ensure that the range of professional development sessions and other structured activities offered at the Institute further the Society’s priorities.
  • To evaluate the Institute as a whole and also specific courses/activities.
  • To formulate specific recommendations to the Program Committee and Publications Committee with regard to advancing the work of the Institute before and after it has taken place, including supporting the development of Annual Meeting programming which would complement the Institute and the maintenance of a permanent archive of Institute materials.
  • The fellowship subcommittee is responsible for evaluating all applications for financial support for the Linguistic Institute and for preparing rank ordered lists of fellowship applicants. The Committee may make recommendations to the Executive Committee regarding future Institutes and fellowship procedures.

 Membership (by invitation)

The following individuals serve  on this committee:

  • The current Institute Director(s)
  • Future Institute Director(s), as they are identified
  • Former Institute Directors (up to 2 at any one time)
  • Recent named Institute professors (up to 2 at any one time)
  • A recent former Bernard and Julia Bloch Fellow
  • A liaison from the Publications Committee
  • A liaison from the Program Committee
  • The LSA liaison from the CoLang Advisory Circle
  • Staff and EC Liaisons

Additional members may be appointed to serve on the fellowship subcommittee, including former fellowship recipients (non-student)

Committee Members 2017 (for the 2017 Linguistic Institute)

  • Keren Rice, University of Toronto, Chair (CoLang Advisory Circle Liaison)
  • Raul Aranovich, University of California, Davis (Future Institute Director)
  • Rebekah Baglini, Stanford University (Former Bloch Fellow)*
  • Rusty Barrett, University of Kentucky (Current Institute Director)*
  • Amy Rose Deal, University of California, Berkeley (Program Committee Liaison)
  • Andrew Garrett, University of California, Berkeley (Former Institute Director)*
  • Dan Jurafsky, Stanford University (Former Named Institute Professor)
  • Kristen Syrett (Publications Committee Liaison)*

The following individuals are serving solely as members of the fellowship review subcommittee, not as full members of CLIF.

  • Adam Albiright, Massachusetts Instittute of Technology
  • Karlos Arregi, University of Chicago
  •  Marlyse Baptista, University of Michigan
  • John Beavers, University of Texas at Austin
  • Lisa Green, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Gunnar Hansson, University of British Columbia
  • Liljana Progovac, Wayne State University
  • Margaret Winters, Wayne State University

* Denotes member of fellowship review subcommittee.

Executive Committee Liaison: Robin Queen
Staff Liaison: David Robinson