To join the Language in the School Curriculum Committee, email David Robinson, Director of Membership and Meetings.


Established in 1992.


The Committee explores and pursues ways in which the linguistics community can advance K-12 curriculum and instruction about language and linguistics.


The responsibilities of the Committee include but are not limited to:

  • Maintaining communication among linguists and K-12 teachers who work in linguistics and K-12 education.
  • Promoting publication and distribution of research related to K-12 teaching and curricula.
  • Organizing symposia, panels, workshops, and sessions at the LSA Annual Meeting; supporting workshops and courses relevant to K-12 education at the LSA Institute.
  • Cosponsoring, with the National Council of Teachers of English, a session at the NCTE annual convention.
  • Partnering, when possible, with other organizations, such as the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Center for Applied Linguistics, the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad and others, in promoting and/or sponsoring activities and events; and with international organizations, including the Committee for Linguistics in Education (UK) and the International Association for the Educational Role of Language.
  • Coordinating with other LSA committees (AP Linguistics Committee, Committee on Public Policy, Public Relations Committee, and others) to promote issues, programs, and policies related to K-12 education on language.

The Committee is authorized and encouraged to collaborate with other professional societies and organizations that have an established interest in these questions, and particularly with classroom practitioners.

Membership (open)

  • At least 6 members, serving three-year terms.
  • Ideally, at least one member who is a secondary school teacher.

Committee Members

  • Mary Hudgens Henderson, Winona State University, Senior Chair
  • Nicoleta Bateman, California State University, San Marcos, Junior Chair
  • Kristin Denham, Western Washington University
  • Michael DeSalvo, Plainview-Old Bethpage School District (Plainview, NY)
  • Catherine Fountain, Appalachian State University
  • Daniel Ginsberg, American Anthropological Association
  • Andrea Herrera-Dulcet, Central Washington University
  • Maya Honda, Wheelock College (Boston University)
  • Sharon Klein, California State University, Northridge
  • Kees Koopman, North Carolina State University
  • Anne Lobeck, Western Washington University
  • Suzi Loosen, Milwaukee School of Languages
  • Sergio Loza, University of Oregon
  • Jordan MacKenzie, Georgetown University
  • Wayne O'Neil, MIT
  • Victora Paxton, The Ohio State University
  • David Pippin, Young Achievers Science and Math Pilot School (Boston, MA)
  • Amy Plackowski, Hudson High School (Hudson, MA)
  • Josh Prada, IUPUI
  • Lyn Tieu, Western Sydney University
  • Nicoleta Bateman, California State University San Marcos
  • Angelo Costanzo, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania 

Executive Committee Liaison: Brian Joseph

Staff Liaison: David Robinson

Meeting Minutes

Collaborating Organizations

Each year, LiSC/LSA puts together a panel at the NCTE. This has been a “guaranteed, co-sponsored session” for many years.

Selected journals with a focus on linguistics in education