To join the Committee on Gender Equity in Linguistics (COGEL, pronounced [kɑgl]), email Hadas Kotek, Committee Chair.


Established in 1974 as the Committee on the Status of Women in Linguistics (COSWL), the committee's name was changed to its current form in 2021.


To monitor and advance the status of women in Linguistics and advocate on behalf of gender diversity and equality issues.


The work of the Committee includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Monitoring and advancing the status of women in linguistics.
  • Proposing to the Executive Committee LSA policies regarding the rights, opportunities, and needs of women in linguistics, as well as evaluating said policies.
  • Maintaining liaison with other organizations concerned with gender diversity and equality in linguistics and allied fields and investigating possibilities for cooperating with such groups on specific projects.
  • Advocating for the Society's Guidelines for Inclusive Language, proposing revisions or additions to the Executive Committee as deemed appropriate.
  • Organizing professional development programming to assist women in advancing their careers as linguists.
  • Encouraging research on language and gender, as well as gender and sexuality.

Membership (open)

  • At least 6 members serving three-year terms.
  • At least one graduate and one undergraduate student member.

Committee Members 

  • Hadas Kotek, Apple & Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chair (2022- )
  • Jessica Rett, University of California, Los Angeles (Chair 2020-2021)
  • Melissa Baese-Berk, University of Oregon (Chair 2018-2020)
  • Paola Cépeda, Washington University in St. Louis (Junior chair, 2022-)
  • Alicia Chatten, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Bronwyn Bjorkman, Queens University
  • Caitlin Green, University of California, Davis
  • Carly Somerlot, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Ellen Broselow, Stony Brook University
  • Ellen Thompson, Florida International University
  • Iara Mantenuto, California State University, Dominguez Hills
  • Jae Weller, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Kathryn Davidson, Harvard University
  • Katharina Pabst, University of Toronto
  • Laura Jo Downing, Goteborgs Universitet
  • Ludi Yu, West Windsor-Plainsboro High School
  • Maggie Baird, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Maggie Zhang, Haverford College
  • Marina Zhukova, UC Santa Barbara
  • Martina Gerdts, University of Hamburg
  • Mary-Caitlyn Valentinsson, University of Arizona
  • Mary Catherine Lavissière, University of Paris, Sorbonne
  • McKenna Kading, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Michelle Yuan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Rebehak Baglini, Stanford University
  • Rikker Dockum, Swarthmore College
  • Sarah Ouwayda, Google
  • Sunny Ananthanarayan, University of Texas at Austin
  • Stephanie Reyes, University of Chicago
  • Susi Wurmbrand, University of Connecticut
  • Tamaya Levy, Northeastern Illinois University
  • Todd Snider, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf

Executive Committee Liaison: Andrea Berez-Kroker

Staff Liaison: Alyson Reed

More about the COGEL can be found at


return to LSA Committees