For information about CELP's collaboration with the Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) in celebration of 2019 as the UN's International Year of Indigenous Languages, click HERE.



Established in 1992.


The Committee on Endangered Languages and their Preservation (CELP) calls attention to the rapid loss of language diversity worldwide and encourages the documentation and study of endangered languages.


The work of the Committee includes but is not limited to the following:

Membership (open)

At least 6 members, serving three-year terms.

Committee Structure, 2020

  • Senior Co-Chair: Carmen Jany, California State University San Bernardino
  • Junior Co-Chair: Racquel-María Sapién, University of Oklahoma
  • Past Senior Co-Chair: Jorge Emilio Rosés Labrada, University of Alberta
  • Media Coordinator: Kathryn Pewenofkit Briner, Florida Atlantic University
  • Student Officer: Danielle Yarbrough, University of Hawai'i
  • Student Officer: Simon L. Peters, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Executive Committee Liaison: Lenore Grenoble
  • Staff Liaison: David Robinson
  • Sub-committee Structure
  • Complete list of members
  • Complete list of previous Chairs

Follow us!

CELP-Endorsed LSA Statements and Resolutions:


Educational and funding resources that support the documentation and study of endangered languages can be found here.

To Join the Committee on Endangered Languages and their Preservation, email David Robinson, Director of Membership and Meetings, and cc the current CELP co-chairs.