Nominations for the Awards Committee are solicited every spring.  Please contact David Robinson, Director of Membership and Meetings, to indicate your interest in serving on this committee at the next available opportunity. 


Established in 2009. Subsumes the Linguistics, Language, and the Public Award Committee.

The Awards Committee deals with awards other than the Bloomfield Book Award, the Community Scholar Award, and the Student Abstract Awards. It considers nominations for all other awards and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee about awards to be made.  When nominations are presented for any of these awards, the Committee evaluates them, and may or may not recommend a candidate for any or all of these awards to the Executive Committee, which must formally approve the recommendation(s).


Preliminary nominations must be submitted to the Secretariat by 1 August, and final nominations by 1 October, for all but the Best Paper in Language Award. The committee makes recommendations by 15 October or, in the case of the Best Paper in Language Award, by three to five weeks after the committee receives the pre-publication versions of the papers from the December issue of the journal. The Committee does not determine the winners of the Student Abstract Awards, but presents the Awards themselves at the Annual Meeting.  

Membership (by invitation)

  • The most recent Immediate Past President (Chair).
  • A member of the Executive Committee in the third year of service.
  • Two other members of the Society are appointed for staggered two-year terms.
  • The current Bloch Fellow may also serve on this committee.

Previous awardees should be considered as potential committee members.

Any member of the Committee who feels him/herself to be in a position of possible conflict of interest (such as sponsorship of work, principal consultant, colleague of contestant, etc.) should make this known to the other members of the Committee at the onset.

Beginning in 2018, the Committee will include a fifth member, who will be a past member of the LSA's Executive Committee, ideally one who has served as a Liaison to either the Committee on Ethnic Diversity in Linguistics or the Committee on the Status of Women in Linguistics.

Committee Members, 2018

  • Alice C. Harris, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Chair (2018)
  • Lisa Green, University of Massachusetts Amhest (2019)
  • Sharon Inkelas, University of California, Berkeley (2018)
  • Judith Tonhauser, The Ohio State University (2018)
  • Anthony Woodbury, University of Texas at Austin (2019)

Executive Committee Liaison: Sharon Inkelas
Staff Liaison: David Robinson