Established in 1974.


To monitor and advance the status of women in Linguistics.


The work of the Committee includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Monitoring and advancing the status of women in linguistics.
  • Proposing to the Executive Committee LSA policies regarding the rights, opportunities, and needs of women in linguistics, as well as evaluating said policies.
  • Maintaining liaison with other organizations concerned with the status of women in linguistics and investigating possibilities for cooperating with such groups on specific projects.
  • Advocating for the Society's Guidelines for Inclusive Language, proposing revisions or additions to the Executive Committee as deemed appropriate.
  • Organizing professional development programming to assist women in advancing their careers as linguists.
  • Encouraging research on language and gender, as well as gender and sexuality.

Membership (open)

  • At least 6 members serving three-year terms.
  • At least one graduate and one undergraduate student member.

Committee Members

  • Kristen Syrett, Rutgers University, Chair (2017)
  • Athulya Aravind, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2018)
  • Melissa Baese-Berk, University of Oregon (2018)
  • Ellen Broselow, Stony Brook University (2018)
  • Rebeka Campos-Astorkiza, The Ohio State University (2018)
  • Yaima Centeno, University at Albany (2018)
  • Paola Cépeda, Stony Brook University (2018)
  • Meghan Clayards, McGill University (2018)
  • Megan Crowhurst, University of Texas at Austin (2018)
  • Marianna Di Paolo, University of Utah (2018)
  • Joyce Domogalla, Carleton College (2017)
  • Katharine Donelson, University at Buffalo (2018)
  • Laura Jo Downing, Goteborgs Universitet (2018)
  • Hadas Kotek, Yale University (2018)
  • Mary Catherine Lavissière, University of Paris, Sorbonne (2018)
  • Sara Lundquist, University of Wisconsin (2018)
  • Monica Macaulay, University of Wisconsin (2018)
  • Miranda McCarvel, University of Utah (2018)
  • Gretchen McCulloch,  All Things Linguistic (2018)
  • Katharina Pabst, University of Toronto (2018)
  • Kathryn Remlinger, Grand Valley State University (2017)
  • Julie Roberts, University of Vermont (2018)
  • Katherine Simeon, Northwestern University (2018)
  • Margaret Thomas, Boston College (2017)
  • Mary-Caitlyn Valentinsson, University of Arizona (2017)
  • Di Wdzenczny, University of California, Santa Barbara (2018)
  • Hong Yan, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2018)
  • Igor Yanovich, University of Tübingen (2017)
  • Christine Weissglass, Florida State University (2018)
  • Susi Wurmbrand, University of Connecticut (2018)
  • Michelle Yuan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2018)
  • Ann Zeng, University of California, Los Angeles (2018)

Executive Committee Liaison: Sharon Inkelas

Staff Liaison: Alyson Reed

WILMA Liaison: Julie Roberts

More about the COSWL


return to LSA Committees